The communities of Lewisville and Clemmons are nestled in a beautiful and natural environment, less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winston-Salem, NC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Lewisville, one of the oldest settlements in Forsyth County, began at just over one square mile, when the first settlers arrived in the 1700’s. The town was named after German descendent, and benefactor, Lewis Laugenour. He bought 750 acres of land in the area. To encourage people to move in the vicinity, he sold land at a reasonable price to farmers who grew corn and tobacco. He also donated the land that the Lewisville United Methodist Church and the Lewisville Baptist Church still sit on today.
Currently, there are 14 historical sites that are marked by the Historical Society of Lewisville, some of them are: the Shiloh Lutheran Church, the Lewis Laugenour House, and Concord United Methodist Church (which was called the Waggoner’s Chapel in 1781)
Today Lewisville is 10.9 square miles, and has a population of about 12,600 based on the 2010 census survey. What started out as a small settlement, with one business, is now a town with over 600 businesses.
Visit the TOWN OF LEWISVILLE website
Clemmons, North Carolina
If you know the history of Clemmons, then it is possible the first person you think of would be Peter Clemmons, developer of Clemmons. However, the first person to settle in Clemmons was William Johnson. It was Johnson who bought the first tract of land, which is now called Tanglewood.
Clemmons, which was originally called Clemmonstown, began in 1757, when Johnson built a fort on 640 acres of land during the French and Indian wars. Since then Clemmons, has grown to about 12 square miles. In 1802, Quaker farmer and Author, Peter Clemmons moved from Delaware with his wife and 14 children. He bought 216 acres for $542. He opened the first store in Clemmons and called it “Peter Clemmons, Merchant of Clemmonsville.”
In 1824 the town became Clemmonsville. The first school in Clemmons was located in Clemmons Moravian church. Edwin Theodore Clemmons, grandson of Peter Clemmons, funded the Moravian church and school through his will. In 1926 the school moved to a large brick building on Clemmons Road and remained there until it closed in 1956. It is now what is now called the Historic Broyhill and is the home of the Lewisville-Clemmons Chamber of Commerce.
Throughout it’s history Clemmons has been a strong and vibrant community.
Visit the VILLAGE OF CLEMMONS website